Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme

By: streetdiscrete

Mar 28 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.6
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot A590 IS

I was at work listening to Simon and Garfunkel’s “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme” waiting for something to happen when I decided to take this photo. I’ve been giving Simon and Garfunkel a few spins lately just to see if anything clicks. Their music is wonderful in its own quiet, soft-spoken way as it wafts gently in the background.

Being bored out of your mind can lead you to do some interesting things like take fifty photos of some old, dried sprigs of sage. Or at least, I think its sage. My hope with this photo was to present an aesthetic fitting with the bare knuckle theme. The lighting is very harsh and over-blown, the shadows are deep and the composition suggests an in your face, fast subject. Sage is not an inherently harsh subject so I thought taking what is a truly lovely plant and presenting in a rough, almost abrasive manner would be a novel twist. I was thinking all this and snapping away when Simon goes, “I wish I was a Kellogg’s Cornflake…” fuckin’ classic.

Leave a Reply

