untitled

By: streetdiscrete

Apr 14 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

7 Comments

Aperture:f/2.6
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot A590 IS

I was struck today to learn how many college students don’t read literature outside of class requirements. For me, reading isn’t something you should be forced to do, it should be a part of everyone’s routine. That’s not to suggest that literature or reading in general is the preferred means of learning, just that it is useful enough not to be intentionally and systematically omitted from anyone’s life. Reading is good for you. Get to it.

7 comments on “untitled”

  1. I read but not always books. Poems are fun to read almost anywhere.

  2. I need to read more literature. I read tech blogs all day. I need something that stimulates my mind more so than facts.

    P.S. That first response is going up today. I don’t know how I feel about it to be honest but like we said it will work itself out.

  3. So true…….. we need many more readers πŸ™‚ I have experienced this in college as well, I will never understand people LOL πŸ™‚

    • I think that part of the problem is that until you read or study literature you don’t really know what is has to offer you. Also I believe you have to be taught or immersed in all the different ways of reading or else you will read literature like you read magazines etc. But with that said, I don’t mean to privilege reading as utmost important, just to point out that reading is beneficial enough to be its own reward. Grades shouldn’t be the only motivation for reading to be done.

  4. I feel ya. Although, there is a lot of reading that has to be done in college, they really don’t ever teach how to read or what to pay attention to , they try in the 101 classes, but until people move beyond those into “real” literature, they will not understand! I completely agree with you!


Leave a Reply

