Is It Worth It?

Not the bowl of pho, that’s definitely worth it. My question is, how do you decide what’s worth blogging about or not? What’s worth the time it takes to snap a quick or not so quick photo? What thought is worth the time it takes to type it all out? What considerations go into that process? Of course its an individual thing, some people blog just to get stuff off their chest, others to seek feedback, others because they genuinely feel they have something worth sharing. For me, I’m not sure why I write what I write or photograph what I photograph. Part of it is an artistic process, I’d do it no matter what just to get the energy out. But another part of it is because I believe in the individual eye, the idea that each person sees the world differently even if we’re all using the same cameras to capture it. Sometimes I blog hoping for feedback, sometimes I blog just because the words and images need to exist in that way. The bowl of pho isn’t the best photo I’ve ever taken, its not exceptional in any way. But the warm hues and grainy quality make it compelling in a cheap way. And apparently that’s enough to make it worth sharing!

Currently Listening To: Street Joy by White Denim

2 comments on “Is It Worth It?”

  1. I’ve lived up here for 5 years, and I’ve never actually had pho yet.

    • Wow, that is a crime. You need to get on yelp, find a good pho place and go! Pho is super cheap and just an all around great meal. Please try it then blog about it, I think you’ll like it but even if you hate it, its worth a try.


Leave a Reply

