What’s Old is New Again!

Sometimes I find what I want to say or share in this precise moment is something I know I’ve already said before. Yet because of circumstance or just a certain itch I must do it again. It feels cheap to rebroadcast what I’ve already uttered. But I suppose so much of life is repetition so why shouldn’t my blog represent that from time to time? I can’t shake the feeling that I shouldn’t, that its not worth the time, but for whatever reason I can’t not. This post is like one of those moments.

You Can Spend the Night Forever

How do we measure time? I don’t mean by minutes, hours or days, I mean what kind of events or experiences mark a significant passing of time? People go through different phases, moods, periods. Often times it seems like two people sitting right next to each other are in completely different time zones. For some people maybe graduation, moving on to a new school, job, or city or town are events that mark the passage of time. Time for me is usually marked between finished artworks. That is, the time and space between one significant or successful artwork to the next makes up a period worthy of reflection in my own mind. Unfortunately that means this current span of time looks to drag on for quite a while. Perhaps life has been so cluttered lately that my internal clock has ceased to function properly. I feel I have been relegated back to measuring minutes, hours, and days as a meter for time which feel quite meaningless when you think about it. Days fade into one another, sun rises signify nothing but another phase in other peoples’ lives. What matter are the things you get done between them.

Currently Listening To: Moanin’ by Charles Mingus

Leave a Reply

